028 7963 2320 [email protected]

Student Voice

"A key strength is the effective working relationships between the teachers and the pupils." (The Inspectorate)

As a listening school, St. Mary’s respects, values and welcomes the views of students on matters pertaining to their learning and school experience. The Student Council promotes the student voice within the school, providing a forum for students to engage in discussions about school issues and to develop leadership skills. Furthermore, the Student Council ensures that students are actively involved in the on-going process of school review and improvement and have an opportunity to contribute to decision-making within the school.

The Student Council is made up of members of the Student Leadership Team and elected Council Representatives from Years 8-14. This group of students meet on a regular basis to discuss matters raised by members of the wider student body through the nominated Class Representative and to set the agenda for meetings with the Principal and Senior Leadership Team.

The Student Council ensures that all students are kept informed of outcomes and developments through the Student Council e-Bulletin, Student Council Notice Board and Year Group Assembly.

Our Student Council enables our pupils to express their opinions and ideas, and fosters a sense of individual and collective responsibility within the school community.

Our Student Council:

  • provides pupils with an opportunity to become more involved in school life;
  • enables pupils to become active participants in the decision- making process in school.

We invite and take account of the views of the pupil body by:

  • conducting a biennial audit of pupils' views on aspects of school provision;
  • issuing regular surveys to pupils on their experiences of learning;
  • holding regular meetings with Pupil Focus Groups.



Mentors/Deputies Level Year 8 Representatives Year 9 Representatives Year 10 Representatives
Eoin Devlin Key Stage 3 8A: Sara Madden 9A: Eadoin Donaghy 10A: Fintan Sargent
Emer McGuckian Key Stage 3 8B: Sean Cassidy 9B: Daniel McNamee 10B: Tiernan Canavan
    8C: Colm Devlin 9C: Aine Atchison 10C: Caoimhe McKillop
    8D: Thomas Mallon 9D: Johnny Campbell 10D: Hugh McKenna
    8E: Declan Murray 9E Jane Young 10E: Michael Lagan



Mentors/Deputies Level Year 11 Representatives Year 12 Representatives
Aaron McWilliams Key Stage 4 11A: Jake Kuczogi 12A: Paul McCarron
Alice McCormick Key Stage 4 11B: Sean Kelly 12B: Christopher Mallon
    11C: Ferghal McFlynn 12C: Hugh O’Donnell
    11D: Conor McCollum 12D: Eamon Devlin
    11E: Ryan McClelland  



Mentors/Deputies Level Year 13 Representatives Year 14 Representatives
Oisin Donaghy Sixth Form Shannon Quinn 14MEC: Terence O’Brien
Bronagh McGuckin Sixth Form Ciara Hampsey 14 SJC: Padraig Martin
    Karl Rocks 14MPD: Alice McCormick
    Catherine Devlin 14JME: Patrick Kielt
      14AMG: Conleth McGrenaghan
      14WDM: Gareth McStocker
      14GAR: Rachael Nugent
      14PBA: Mark O’Kane