028 7963 2320 [email protected]


Posted on 26th August 2016 | News

Students at St. Mary’s Grammar School, Magherafelt have again excelled in GCSE examinations. Following the publication of results, Mrs Gillespie, Principal, described the grades achieved by students as “truly remarkable” and reported that 99% of students achieved A*-C grades in at least 7 subjects, including English and Mathematics. An impressive 65% of all grades were A*- A.

Expressing her pride in students, Mrs Gillespie commented: “It is always gratifying to see our young people achieve the success they so richly deserve. The hard work and commitment of students, the expertise and guidance of staff, and the support and encouragement of parents and guardians have all contributed to such excellent examination outcomes. I congratulate and commend everyone involved. As they begin the next important stage in their lives, I would advise students to maintain their focus and motivation as they pursue future goals and ambitions.”

11As or more

Hannah Millar (11A*), Cassie Ní Chatháin (8A*), Annie Groom (5A*)

10As or more

Ruth Dace (9A*), Ronan Hughes (9A*), Andrew McGurk (9A*), Brian Cassidy (8A*), Kevin Harkin (8A*), Hugh McKenna (8A*), Eimear McCann (7A*), Eve McFarlane (7A*), Aidan McKeever (8A*), Blathnaid Mullan-Young (7A*), Eve O’Neill (7A*), Aaron Ball (6A*), Sinead Boyle (6A*), Matthew Larkin (6A*), Trea McElhone (6A*), Joe McErlean (6A*), Aliesha McNally (6A*), Orlaith Scullin (6A*), Lorcan Toner (6A*)

9As or more

Carmel Hinds (7A*), John Walker (7A*), Aislinn Craig (6A*), Lottie Kelly (6A*), Matthew McErlean (6A*), Brid McGee (6A*), Christy O’Connor (6A*), Anna Maria O’Donnell 6A*), Jack Diamond (5A*), Catherine McGorrey (5A*), Aoife McGurk (5A*), Caoimhe McKillop (5A*), Tiarnach Donaghy (4A*),Clodagh Mullin (4A*), Conan Quinn (3A*), Erin Totten-Mullan (2A*), Aoife Curran (1A*), Rian Fullerton (1A*), Matthew Houston (1A*)

8As or more

Caoimhe Meeke (8A*), Gabriella Lupari (6A*), Daniel Bradley (5A*), Lucy McGurk (5A*), Adam Connolly (3A*), Ruairi Keenan (3A*), Niall O’Neill (3A*). Amy Tohill (3A*), Peter Tohill (3A*), James Beggan (2A*), Oran Fowley (2A*), Meghan McDermott (2A*), Dermot O’Neill (2A*), Bethany Cassidy (1A*), Orla Mallon (1A*), Anna Martin (1A*), Eilis Pendlebury (1A*), Brian Devine

7As or more

Brian McAteer (4A*), Jane Coward (3A*), Anna Johnston (3A*), Jack Loughran (3A*), Owen Martin (3A*), Kate McCloskey (3A*), Patrick Mooney (3A*), Ryan Murphy (4A*), Maria Murray (3A*), Ciara Cassidy (2A*), Sean Corcoran (2A*), Conall Devlin (2A*), Laura Kane (2A*), Ryan McCloy (2A*), Tiarnan Canavan (1A*) Ciaran McAteer (1A*), Orla McGuigan (1A*), James McGurk (1A*), Aoife Gribbin, Claire McKay

6As or more

James Crawford (2A*), Oisin Duffin (2A*), Sarah-Louise Duffin (2A*),  Odhrán McElroy (2A*), Meghan McGillian (2A*) Clare Mulholland (2A*), Zoe Dunlop (1A*), John Marron (1A*), Liam Og McElhone (1A*), Kirsten McKenna (1A*), Finola Taggart (1A*), Charlie Dickson, Molly McAteer, Cormac Murphy, Katie Rushe

5As or more

Alice Collins (3A*), Aine Friel (3A*), Harry Conway (2A*), Anne Marie Craig (1A*), Ryan Kearns (1A*), Daire Kelly (1A*), Brendan Madden (1A*), Sarah Bateson, Hannah Cleary, Ben Eastwood, Michael Lagan, Liam McGrogan, Ciaran O’Boyle.

Click here to view Media Gallery