028 7963 2320 [email protected]


Posted on 14th May 2013 | NewsGeneral

St. Mary’s Grammar School’s Danske Bank Kirk Cup Champions 2013

St. Mary’s Grammar School, Magherafelt has emerged victorious from the 2013 Ulster Colleges Danske Bank Hurling Kirk Cup competition, beating Rathmore Grammar School, Belfast to pick up the trophy. 

Played at Kickham’s Creggan GAC on Wednesday 8 May, the final score was St. Mary’s 2-13 v Rathmore Grammar 1-12. A terrific opening half was enough to see St Mary’s, Magherafelt over the line in an entertaining final at the wind and rain swept Creggan.

Midfielders, Dónal Carey (Captain) and Conor Small, dominated the half and, at the break, St. Mary’s was 1-9 to 0-5 ahead.

Small hit three points from long-range frees, Carey added a point, while Kevin Small, younger brother of Conor, struck the all important goal in the twenty second minute.

Rathmore was hanging into the game, relying on the free-taking of Donal McKernan who fired home three of his side’s first half points.

McKernan kept up his free scoring rate through the second half, but the whole Rathmore team raised their game and, with fifteen minutes of sustained pressure, put the Magherafelt lads’ backs to the wall. 

Rathmore’s Aodhán Burke found the corner of the net in the thirty third minute and two frees from McKernan narrowed the deficit to 1-10 to 1-6.

Although Conor Small responded with two points, McKernan replied in kind and the game entered the last ten minutes finely balanced.

However, that was as good as it got for the city side, as St. Mary’s stepped up to the plate to finish strongly. Ronan O’Kane cut in along the end-line, lost possession but managed to slip the sliotar through to team mate, Cathal Donnelly, who blasted the net. 

With Small adding a point, St. Mary’s had done enough to fend off a late rally that delivered three points for Rathmore.

Despite the atrocious weather conditions, a number of players stood out in this entertaining game of Hurling: Burke, McKernan, Ben Carlin and Jack Bohill for Rathmore, and Dominic Dougan, the midfielders, Peter Lagan, Liam Quinn  and James McEldowney for St. Mary’s.  However, it was host club Creggan that had the biggest impact on the evening with six players on the St. Mary’s starting line-out and five more among the subs.

St. Mary’s: Cormac Rice (Creggan), Roddy Mullin(Lavey), Dominic Dougan (Lavey), Dermot Carey (Creggan),  Simon Kalla (St. Enda’s), Proinnsias Burke (Slaughtneil) 0-1,Peter Lagan (Ballinascreen), Conor Small (Creggan) 0-6, 0-5 frees, Donal Carey, Captain (Creggan) 0-2, Kevin Small (Creggan) 1-0, James McEldowney (Ballinascreen) 0-2, Eoghan Gilmore (Ballinascreen), Cathal Donnelly (Ballinascreen), 1-0 Ronan O’Kane (Ballinascreen) 0-1, Liam Quinn (Creggan) 0-1.

Subs – Sean Kelly, Niall Keenan, Michael Kennedy, Michael Mulholland, Michael Carey Small, Eamonn Doherty, John Quinn, Danny Gillespie, Aidan Mc Auley, Conaill Prenter.

Managers – Proinnsias Brolly and Paul Kalla. 

Rathmore : Finbar McGrade, Matthew O’Neill, Ben Carlin, Conor Gilligan, Alex Gallagher, Jack Bohill (Captain), Gerard Smyth, Brian Crossan 0-2, Caolan Lynch, Daire Matthews, Donal McKernan 0-8, 0-7 frees, Callum Donnelly, Conor O’Doherty, Aodhan Burke 1-1, Caomhan Daykin.

Sub : Lorcan Heenan 0-1.

Manager - Neil Peden. 

Photograph Details: 

1. St. Mary’s Grammar School’s Danske Bank Kirk Cup Champions 2013

2. St. Mary’s Grammar School’s Danske Bank Kirk Cup Champions pictured with Mrs D. Gillespie (Principal), Mr P. Brolly (Manager), Donal Carey (Captain), Mr P. Kalla (Manager) and Siobhan Convery from Sportique who sponsored the team.